Informing Homeowners about the Levels of Chimney Inspection

Every responsible homeowner should be aware that the chimney must maintain an annual inspection done by duly licensed professionals. This is essential for keeping your chimney safe to use and functional for over longer periods of time. We at Ace Chimney Sweeps want to make sure that our customers are well informed about the process of chimney inspections so they can be at ease, knowing that their chimney is in good hands.

Home Chimney Inspections - Elkton MD - Ace Chimney Sweeps

The Three Levels of Chimney Inspection

There are three levels of chimney inspections as classified by the National Fire Protection Association (NFPA) and Chimney Safety Institute of America (CSIA). In each level the NFPA has defined a certain standard that must be done when a professional chimney sweep does an inspection. These standards must be adhered to if the agency or the sweep himself is to be licensed or accredited by the CSIA. We proudly claim that the experts here at Ace Chimney Sweeps are certified and well equipped to provide comprehensive chimney inspections no matter what level. Here is a quick look at how these inspections work:

Level 1

This type of inspection is a minimum requirement for the continued use of a chimney and should go with routine chimney cleaning at least once a year. The technician will mostly be looking at the most accessible parts of the chimney, taking note of the overall structure, the flue and the fireplace as well. It also goes without saying that he will make sure that there are no blockages within the chimney.

Level 2

This level of inspection is recommended when you want to change something within the chimney and fireplace system, when there are observable malfunctions with the use of the chimney, or before using the heating system of a house you just recently moved in. This inspection will be more in-depth than the first level, but there are no special tools used aside from a video inspection to view the internal area of the flue. If there are any problems with the chimney that cannot be determined with the first two levels, then there is a need to undergo a Level 3 inspection of the chimney that may include demolishing or removing some parts to complete the inspection.

Level 3

This is the most thorough level of inspection which is required when the two previous inspections have identified major hazards in areas of the chimney that are not accessible. In this type of inspection, there is a possibility of having to remove certain parts of the chimney or even demolish an area of the house in order to get to the problem area and fix it. When it has to come to this, our personnel from Ace Chimney Sweeps will personally discuss with you what exactly needs to be done and how we will go about it to reassure you that there is nothing to worry about.